Skip to content
Home » Articles » Installing and Setting Up the ESP32 Board in Arduino IDE

Installing and Setting Up the ESP32 Board in Arduino IDE

Warning icon: safety precautions Before you start, make sure you have the current version of Arduino IDE installed.

To install the ESP32 board in Arduino IDE, you need to go through a few steps:

Icon of the number 1: program step In Arduino IDE, open the “Preferences” window. To do this, click “File” > “Preferences” (File > Preferences).

Icon of the number 2: program step Paste the link  https://raw.githubusercontent.com/espressif/arduino-esp32/gh-pages/package_esp32_index.json into the “Additional Boards Manager URLs” field, as shown in the screenshot below. Then click the “OK” button.

Arduino IDE: installing ESP32 board support, Boards Manager

Note: If this field already contains a link to the descriptions of other boards, the links can be separated from each other with commas. Like this:

https://raw.githubusercontent.com/espressif/arduino-esp32/gh-pages/package_esp32_index.json,
http://arduino.esp8266.com/stable/package_esp8266com_index.json

Warning icon: safety precautionsIf this field contains the link https://dl.espressif.com/dl/package_esp32_index.json, it must be removed!

Icon of the number 3: program step In Arduino IDE, open the “Boards Manager”. To do this, click “Tools” > “Board” > “Boards Manager…” (Tools > Board > Boards Manager…).

Arduino IDE: selecting the ESP32 Dev Module board

Icon of the number 4: program step In the search field, type “esp32”. You will find the ESP32 add-on “ESP32 by Espressif Systems”. Install it by clicking the “Install” button. If you already had an old version installed, click the “Update” button, making sure that the selected version is 2.0.1 or higher

Now you need to check that ESP32 was installed correctly. To do this, connect the ESP32 board to your computer. Then do the following:

Icon of the number 1: program step Open Arduino IDE.

Icon of the number 2: program step Select the board you need in the “Tools” > “Board” menu. In our case it is “DOIT ESP32 DEVKIT V1”.

Arduino IDE: selecting the ESP32 connection port

Icon of the number 3: program step Select  “Tools” > “Port” and specify the COM port the board is connected to. If this port is not visible in Arduino IDE, you need to install the VCP driver for the CP210x chip on your computer – it is needed for communication between the USB and UART interfaces.

Arduino IDE: uploading a sketch to ESP32

Icon of the number 4: program step In Arduino IDE, open the example sketch “WiFi Scan”. To do this, click “File” > “Examples” > “WiFi (ESP32)” > “WiFi Scan”, and the sketch will open in the editor.

Arduino IDE: compiling a sketch for ESP32

Icon of the number 5: program step Click the “Upload”  button in Arduino IDE. Wait a few seconds while the code compiles and uploads to the ESP32 board. The upload button icon looks like this:

Arduino IDE: successful firmware upload to ESP32

Icon of the number 6: program step When the sketch uploads to ESP32 successfully, you should see the message “Done uploading”

Arduino IDE: ESP32 serial monitor

Icon of the number 7: program step In Arduino IDE, open the “Serial Monitor” and set the data rate to 115200 baud. The serial monitor button icon looks like this:

Arduino IDE: configuring libraries for Samovar

Icon of the number 8: program step Reconnect the ESP32 to the USB port. As a result, you should see in the serial monitor all the WiFi networks near the ESP32 board.

Arduino IDE: final configuration for flashing Samovar firmware

That completes the setup and check of ESP32. Now you can move on to uploading the sketch to Samovar

Leave a Reply